Get In Touch
  • Fb-icon
  • Top-linkdin
  • Top-twitter
  • Rss
Current Issue

animation-neutral-tts-300x100' width='300' height='100' border='0

Tata Chemicals’ Babrala plant bags National Safety Award

By Niranjan Mudholkar,

Added 31 October 2014

For developing and implementing effective Occupational Health and Safety Management System.


Tata Chemicals' Babrala plant in Uttar Pradesh has been awarded the much-coveted ‘Suraksha Puraskar’ in the manufacturing sector category by The National Safety Council of India. The award was conferred to Tata Chemicals by Narendra Singh Tomar, Union Minister for Mines, Steel, Labour and Employment, for implementing and upholding safety excellence at its Babrala plant.

NSCI Awards aim at providing national recognition to manufacturing and construction organisations and micro, small and medium enterprises for their consistent and meritorious operational and safety performance. ‘Suraksha Puraskar’ is awarded for recognising and encouraging factories for developing and implementing effective Occupational Health and Safety Management System and achieving meritorious and sustained performance over a period of three calendar years preceding the Awards Year.

Speaking on this achievement, VK Bhatia, COO – CNAB, Tata Chemicals Ltd, said, “Sustainability and excellence form the core philosophy of Tata Chemicals’ Babrala plant. We are proud of our continued success at The National Safety Council of India as this further strengthens our commitment and dedication towards safety, health and environment (SHE). We give prime importance to SHE initiatives, and such accolades helps us raise the bar every year.”

DK Sundar, Senior Vice President, Marketing & Commercial CNAB, Tata Chemicals Ltd., said, “The Babrala plant is truly an example of a world-class plant. This is a proud moment for all of us at the Company, and we will continue to uphold our high safety standards in the future.”

Tata Chemicals has previously been the recipient of the NSCI award for its performance during the year 2013, and 2004-2007, and was also awarded with Sarva Shreshtha Suraksha Puraskar.

comments powered by Disqus